Windows 8 - Looks really awsome

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Sep 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
    We won't know until it's out, it could just be MSE built it. But with the talk earlier this year about SmartScreen built into Windows, I have a feeling it will be somewhat improved over MSE.
     
  2. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I think that some time will pass before we get that wish.


    It was a completely idiotic move all around, but it worked for one reason only: All the choices were free. Do you honestly see the same thing working with vendors such as Norton, Kaspersky and such? I can already tell you which choice will be picked from that list, the one that doesn't cost a dime. Trial versions are woefully out of date by the time the system leaves a store anyway, so that further makes them useless (unless you buy a model that literally came out that year, which doesn't happen that often with the public).
     
  3. ziaul

    ziaul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Posts:
    239
    It is available for download now. My vmware is ready.:D
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
  5. ziaul

    ziaul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Posts:
    239
  6. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
    5 year old laptop bootup times..

    With 7: 63 seconds

    With 8: 26 seconds
     
  8. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    What antivirus in W8?
    Come oooon more bloat T_T
    I've said that if they're not going into the AV fully 100% then don't include another system hog module. I mean like a half 4$$3d job NO! o_O :thumbd: :thumbd: (Which is how i consider Windows Defender now)
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
    Yeah it's so much bloat, especially considering Win8 is lighter than Win7.... :blink:
     
  10. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    You do understand that this is a dev preview? Meaning it's nowhere near finished. If you ask me, the UI will be the hogging factor, but that's my opinion based on looks and the little info I have. I don't have the dev preview, and I'm not going to use it. If this new Windows Defender is anything remotely like MSE, it won't be a resource hog. Besides, Win 8 is about getting rid of heavy resource use, so it stands to reason that they won't be throwing things in it that use a lot of resources.

    Give it time, Beta is when we're going to know how this all is going to work. Even then though, things can rapidly change.
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    Anything that doesn't start up with the computer likely doesn't slow it down... so simply disabling it will be fine.

    And WITH the Defender it still uses 200MB less than Win7.
     
  12. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    Okay maybe it's because i'm picky but i always try to use the PC as lean as i can. (Yeah i got 2 Security software installed but that is NOT my everyday setup, in fact 50% of the time i use another PC with no software installed at all besides the everyday stuff like browser etc, in this PC i dont do anything risky) :D
    And IMO i still call it bloat if they don't go 100% on it xD (That's my personal opinion)
    Even if W8 is lighter it doesn't means it's less bloated :D
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    I guess. But the touch-pad UI can be disabled... and possibly even removed (like in Windows 7, you can remove IE9 and other stuff)
     
  14. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
    Updated sig to reflect the status of my desktop PC, all went smooth on the laptop so I took the leap.
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    Oh well still we got lots of other good things such as faster boot time, lighter overall etc. :thumb:
     
  16. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
    The process of moving various files back to my drive. The copy dialog for those who haven't seen it:

    copy.png
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    so you mean you can actually use the thing?
    to surf and stuff?! :D
    is everything working ok?
    can u install apps?

    if i download this, can it be updated all the way through Betas and RCs?

    i'm almost vomiting with excitement! :argh:
     
  18. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    It should get updates until the betas and hopefully after.
     
  19. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,654
    You can run virtually everything Windows 7 can.

    Yes there are updates via Windows Updates. Infact there's already been 2 updates to improve it, both of them with the description of "Resolving Issues" a.k.a. bugfixes.
     
  20. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    I'm in! :thumb: :D

    i'll try to download it from work, otherwise i'm looking at at 30 hours download from this machine.
     
  21. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
  22. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    I have it installed now.

    Questions?

    I have defender removed. Was as simple as disabling the service for it.
     
  23. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,464
    Tempted to try it but have no time reformat pc :rolleyes:
     
  24. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,139
    Pretty much any software that loads kernel hooks probably won't work.

    Not running any security software at the moment. (Except EMET)
     
  25. fsr

    fsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    190
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.