Windows 7 Pro (x86) and SafeOnline

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Lyondellic, Dec 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lyondellic

Lyondellic Registered Member

I know that most on this board are aware of this issue, but figured that I would share my experience in case it is helpful to anyone. I am relatively new to Prevx, but work in IT (mobile computing) and possess an advanced knowledge of computer hardware and software accordingly. Long story short, I have been building, configuring and using computers since the days of DOS and the lovely TRS-80.

I bought an Acer X1300-U1801A and performed a clean install of Windows 7 Pro on August 16th (thank you MSDN). I am using the current release of Prevx (v3.0.5.40), but no other antivirus or anti-malware applications are being used. I do have the default Windows firewall enabled, but Windows Defender has been disabled.

After installing Prevx, I initially left all settings at their default, with the exception of the following: 1) disabled the splash screen, 2) enabled enhanced rootkit detection, 3) set to automatically block access to infected files without prompting, 4) added a password, 5) set up a daily scan schedule. The installation was fast and uneventful. Within a short period of time, however, Google Chrome [v3.0.195.38] and IE8 [v8.0.7600.16385] started to crash and recover on a frequent basis. For the record, this had not been an issue before I installed Prevx.

Here is the log entry from one IE8 event:

Faulting application name: iexplore.exe, version: 8.0.7600.16385,
    time stamp: 0x4a5bc69e
    Faulting module name: WS2_32.dll,
    version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb4a
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000048c5
    Faulting process id: 0x1500
    Faulting application start time: 0x01ca868618b4eb50
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\WS2_32.dll