Windows 7 64 bit; Windows firewall or third party firewall ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Fly, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

Fly Registered Member

Soon I'll have my new Windows 7 64 bit system.

What's the best choice: Windows' native firewall or a third party firewall ?

Pros and cons ?

I don't like applications phoning home, and I don't like Windows phoning home either. Is it possible to control the latter effectively with a third party firewall ?

What about Proxomitron or something similar ? I'm not a techie and I can't create my own rulesets !

2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

Because you are specific in what you want to achieve, blocking apps (including Windows own) I would say you are better served with a 3rd party firewall. Built-in firewall is just as good but not so easy to configure. Be careful when you block Windows communication as you can easily end up crippling your system communication wise. You will need to learn how and what to block though, pre build rules are only good to certain extent. Proxomitron is not used to block apps but rather to cleanup/scrub http traffic of scripts, adverts etc etc.

3. Fuzzfas

Fuzzfas Registered Member

If you disable Windows Update, there shouldn't be anything else phoning home to MS. Except for WMP probably.

I use the Win7 firewall and Win7 Firewall Control Plus (from sphinx-soft) and i can say that all my internet related activities feel much lighter than with 3rd party firewalls i 've tried (yesterday i installed Outpost). CPU usage is very low.

You can try Win7 Firewall + Win7 Firewall Control FREE. The main limitation of the free, is that it doesn't filter outbound connections started in the C:Windows directory. But you can have the Win7 native firewall running too at the same time.

Maybe PC Tools Firewall can be light too, i don't know though, haven't tried it on Win7.