WiFi, The ISP and TOR

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by notthatguy, Apr 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notthatguy

notthatguy Registered Member

I've been studying into this lately and I'm new to privacy online so I apologize if I'm wrong on this. I've started reading about privacy now that those new bills are going through. Anyway here's my confusion.

When you log into a wireless network say at a Mcdonalds the ISP logs the following information and it would look like this.

Hostname - JohnsComputer
    MAC Address: F4-4S-16-HH
    Log : Google @ 0800 HRS, Google Searched Fart @ 0805 HRS

If I logged on with TOR they would receive the following:

Hostname - Johns-Computer
    MAC Address: F4-4S-16-HH
    Log : TOR Data @ 0800, TOR Data @ 0805

With TOR the WiFi network would have no knowledge of what you were doing correct?

Now my questions:

Are WiFi networks able to pick up computer specs? Or anything else that would help them identify a user.

If you spoofed the MAC and Randomized the host name, the user would be literally completely untraceable correct? (On a technical standpoint)

This has really been bothering me, since reading on here I came to this conclusion after 5 minutes and I just don't understand how it could be that easy.

Sorry for any bad English

(Note: This is all completely out of fun and theoretical, I'm only trying to actually understand the WiFi logging process)

Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  2. PaulyDefran

PaulyDefran Registered Member