Why does NOD32 need Outlook?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 1 Forum' started by Finn McCool, Mar 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Finn McCool

    Finn McCool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    New Orleans
    I'm trying to set up unattended scans by NOD32. A major problem is that everytime I run NOD32, it brings up this message and waits for a response. After I click OK, NOD32 runs, and I can scan. My NOD32 settings are default except for adding archives to diagnostics. Running on WinXP Pro with 192 Meg RAM. I haven't had Outlook on the machine for years--long before I changed the OS to XP. My mail program is Becky!.
     
  2. rodzilla

    rodzilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Posts:
    653
    Location:
    australia
    It's a Microsoft bug. Sorry, I am in Slovakia at the moment and I cannot access my own computer to find the fix ... but I posted the registry fix somewhere on Wilders a few weeks ago.
     
  3. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
  4. Finn McCool

    Finn McCool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Thanks for the advice, but none of it helps. :'( The FAQ assumes Outlook is installed; it isn't. The thread was more promising, but my registry did not have the key PreFirstRun. o_O
     
  5. Finn McCool

    Finn McCool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Since this system isn't critical to my work, I decided to try the version 2 beta. I deselected MAPI and so far so good. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.