Why didn't they detect.........?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by WE Sim, Feb 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WE Sim

WE Sim Guest

Hi! o_O

Now thinking back the last few days when I was pestered by lop.com, I wondered why SpywareGuard, Spyware Blaster and SpyCop didn't issue dats to detect and eradicate this lop.com spyware except for SpyBot & Ad-aware who are the ones solving the problem?

Or is it that they are detecting different types of spywares?

Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks

2. Pieter_Arntz

Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

Hi WE Sim,

I am still studying (and torturing :) ) the sample you sent me. It´s a whole new version that creates random BHO CSLID´s, random named dll´s and exe´s.
    From the programs I have installed Ad-Watch 3 was the only one that recognized the installation as a harmfull process.
    As I told you in my e-mail it has been submitted in the meantime.

Regards,

Pieter

3. WE Sim

WE Sim Guest

Hi Pieter_Arntz! ;)

Thanks for your reply.

What would happened if Lop.com is a virus/trojan or worm? By the time those anti-virus/trojan/worm busters develop an effective antidote I think the whole computer system would have collapsed.

This particular one mutates so often creating different variants that make the anti-spyware difficult to cope (clean thoroughly).

Is this the beginning of a new type of spyware and that we will see more of such in the future......and possibly.....viruses, trojans, worms etc of such a nature?

I wonder what the anti-virus/trojan/worm companies are thinking now taking Lop.com as an example?

Thanks again

4. Pieter_Arntz

Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

Hi WE Sim,

Well, in their defense I would have to say that Adaware, Spybot S&D and PestPatrol all found big chunks of it once it was installed. Plus that System Safety Monitor and TDS alerted me to a startup change. And on top of that, my firewall alerted me to a new program trying to contact the internet.