WHICH SPYWARE FREEWARE & OTHER PROGRAMS

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by petimager, Jan 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petimager

petimager Registered Member

I'm new to this so please excuse my questions.I'm not sure which freeware is best for detecting spyware & covers all the basis for protecting my PC from trojans ,malware tec. I have hijackthis downlaoded, cwshredder, Bho, ad-aware free version & spybot free version downloaded on my PC. I have windows xp & windows service pack 2 downloaded also. I use the AVG anti-virus software 7.0 the free version. With a different freeware antivirus software out there I would like recommendations as to which is best to use & that goes for detectig spyware, trojans etc.? To keep my PC from being messed up by viruses, trojans spyware etc. I'm not sure if I have downloaded too much software or these are sufficent being a beginner. Can anyone please shed some light on these subjects? Thanks

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

if you want an av that detects trojans worms and viri you probably would need Kaspersky or Mcafee but if viri is basically what you want from an av Nod32 is about the best in that field with a very good hueristics. You should also consider getting spywareguard and spywareblaster which are both free and excellent programs

bigc

3. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

personally i prefer avast! home edition for a free AV. neways, some other programs u might wanna try are sygate personal firewall standard, prevx home, protowall or peerguardian 2 lite, and a-squared free.

4. BlueZannetti

BlueZannetti Registered Member