Which disk imaging program?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by besafe, Aug 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besafe

besafe Registered Member

After much research, I think disk imaging is the way I want to go with my back up strategy. I considered a disk imaging plus instant recovery type set up as beinbg trhe gold standard, but probably only need a disk imaging program.

I am a newbie to Disk Imaging and a newbie to Windows Vista. My new PC is AMD Athlon 64X2, Dual Core Processor 4000+, 2G memory, 250 G hard drive.
    My OS is Windows Vista Home Premium.

I want a reliable (most important), easy to use(very important), relatively fast (not that important) disk imaging solution. I would like to be able to save images directly to DVD (making somewhat of a bootbale DVD in case of disaster). I don't want the program to bog down my PC (very important). It would be neat to be able to boot the image to a different PC if needed, but not a requirement.

I have read a little bit about:

1. Paragon Drive Backup 8.5
    2. ATI 10
    3. Shadow Protect

Which would you suggest and why? On amazon, ATI has gotten a lot of great reviews but also a lot of negative reviews. The latter scares me. It seems like people either love it or hate it.

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

Hello besafe,
    imho its got to be eiether paragon or shadow protect desktop.
    shadow protect desktop version 3 is out in a few weeks.
    so I would surgest trialing both and then make a verdict.
    both uninstall cleanly if you dont like them.
    both paragon and shadow protect desktop are both lean mean and very reliable.
    paragon supports burning the images to dvd.
    ATI 10 is bloated IMO.
    you dont need it to backup indivitial application settings.
    lodore

3. farmerlee

farmerlee Registered Member