Which are the top-tier AV programs ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by brjoon1021, Aug 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brjoon1021

brjoon1021 Registered Member

I am not going to ask which is the best. But I am asking which ones are generally considered the top tier of AV softwares for home or small office for the Windows platform. (XP pro SP2).

I am new to antivirus and security concerns. I have been safe without taking precautions until lately.

Now I am wising up. I installed the trial version of NOD32 yesterday. It seems pretty good. It found trojans on my laptop.

My forum reading suggests that
    KAV is well respected but may be bloaty & a resource hog that has a few false positives.

NOD32 is well respected, lighter and faster.

Bit Defender seems to have fans.

Consumer Reports liked Trend. I do not know if that is worth much weight.

-Is it safe to say that these are the top drawer?

Thanks,
    B.

2. dread

dread Registered Member

Kav.mcafee, nod and trend from wat I get from this forum. If you goto other forums they will drop mcafee and say norton. Other forums will drop kav and say nod. Trends ratings are pretty much the same and constant in every forum I have seen. Its almost like asking what is the best av imo. Allot of people like to visit sites like http://www.av-comparatives.org/ http://www.virus.gr http://www.virusbtn.com/ to determine which is the best or which ones comes in the top 4. I think Kav.mcafee, nod and trend actually comes close to the best 4 imo.

3. kalpik

kalpik Registered Member

NOD32, KAV, McAfee Enterprise (Not the home version), VBA32, BitDefender. Not in any order though! LOL! :D

4. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

Avast, BitDefender, Dr Web, Command, F-Prot, KAV, other KAV-engined AV's, McAfee, Norton, Panda, Sophos and Trend would all be considered as excellent AV's.
    Don't believe everything you read ;).