When is it time to go for a clean install?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cyborg, Dec 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyborg

Cyborg Registered Member

Hi guys,

I have a slight problem. My Task Manager is functioning but the "box" that displays it (noob talking here lol) has shrunk to tiny proportions.

I have lost some options. I am left with Task and Status at the top only and at the bottom , End Task, Switch To, and New Task. My min/max has gone along with whatever else should be there. I have not got a clue as to what I have done but a guy in the Clan I am part of says that my PC is due for a complete Clean Install i.e. I have got to reformat my hard drives and start from fresh. I am a total novice and this seems really drastic because the thought of having to back data up and then ,"me" lol, try to load all the drivers etc is to put it midly frightening me to death.

Something is missing in Task Manager that is obvious but "When is it time to go for a clean install?" This other guy wipes his PC once a month which may be a good thing if you know what you are doing but seems drastic to me. Anyone got any ideas please?

2. Pieter_Arntz

Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

Hi Cyborg,

Can you resize it by dragging the lower righthand corner outward?
    If so, stretch it to the length you want it and then close TaskManager.
    The next time you open it, it should have "remembered" that size.

Regards,

Pieter

3. Cyborg

Cyborg Registered Member

Hi Pieter,

Yes I can resize it but I cannot gain the lost selections as per my original post. It just resizes what I have but not what is missing which is max/min and the border that used to be there with the various options in.

Is this unusual or has anyone else had a similar problem with Task Manager?

4. Pieter_Arntz

Not very unusual. Double-click the grey outside border of the window. ;)

Regards,

Pieter

5. Prince_Serendip

Prince_Serendip Registered Member