What to do when you lost the MBR

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jetalbot, Apr 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jetalbot

jetalbot Registered Member

I am new with True Image, and had a problem testing restore untill I was told to disable GoBack. Now everything works. I got to thinking, what if my 'C' drive goes bad, head crash, etc., where the system cannot read the MBR. I have my backup on a second disk drive. Will I be able to restore if the should happen. Thanks.

2. John Farrar

John Farrar Registered Member

Hi
    If you have a TI backup then you have everything that is on the disk, including the MBR.
    HTH
    John

3. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

That is true as long as the image backup was made with B3567. On previous builds the MBR was included only if the whole disk was imaged. This is a good reason for moving to B3567 if you haven't.

For MBRs that are plain XP MBRs, that is another piece of software didn't modify it (GoBack may be in that category but I don't know), you can restore the MBR with the XP installation disk recovery console FIXMBR command or even a W95/98 recovery disk's FDISK /MBR command.

4. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

I just happen to have been looking at a system that has GoBack on it last week. The system wouldn't boot. In looking at some forums on GoBack, it seems that about 1 out of 100 people are happy with it. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: . The owner of the laptop is still waiting for a file from the GB people that will uninstall it.

If you got your system running, take my advice - I'm not going to use it anyway, LOL, - do not put GB back on it. Even True Image is better than GB. :D :D

5. John Farrar

John Farrar Registered Member

Surely every build will include the MBR if a whole drive is imaged? I don't think we are talking about just file & folder back up here.
    John

6. bVolk

bVolk Registered Member