What remains

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by ExHelot, Apr 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ExHelot

ExHelot Registered Member

I'm new to truCrypt and security issues in general. I have a question that I hope someone can help with.

Scenario: I write a document on MS Word, then place it in a truCrypt folder.
    The document is encrypted.
    What remains of the document that can be accessed on my PC?
    How do I eliminate the 'leftovers'.

2. PaulyDefran

PaulyDefran Registered Member

Never trust Windows (and to be honest, there is a lot of logging that goes on with Ubuntu too. It can be turned off, but it isn't an easy process...or wasn't for me). You would have to run regular free space/slack/MFT wipes to *try* to be sure. I have to say, BCWipe v5, while not free, has some nice features. One is called 'Transparent Wiping' where it wipes every file in real time when it is deleted, moved, cut and pasted, etc...by either you, or the OS. If you can't run (like one should) a TrueCrypt encrypted OS (regular or hidden), or Linux in an encrypted LVM...I think it's the next best thing.

PD

3. popcorn

popcorn Registered Member

Is there any free alternatives to BCWipe ? or more specifically a free ap that has 'Transparent Wiping"? at present I have to drop all docs etc in to file shredder, does the job but soon becomes a chore:ouch:
    Also on the subject of regular free space wipes can you recommend any free, quick and effective apps ? and does wiping free space frequently have a detrimental effect on the HDD ?

4. PaulyDefran

PaulyDefran Registered Member