What is your security without realtime Anti Virus setup?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kees1958, May 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dark Shadow
    Offline

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    whats in sig only and absolutley love it.
  2. blacknight
    Offline

    blacknight Registered Member

    Multi layer defense ;). Basically, HIPS and sandboxing. And virtual surfing if needed.
  3. Yanick
    Offline

    Yanick Registered Member

    Windows 7 x64 Home
    SpyShelter Firewall, ExeWatch, ThreatFire, Sbie (Paid), Emet 2.1.
    Hitman Pro, Emsisoft free scanner, Mbam Pro. 3 on-demand scanners.
    Windows in-built imaging.
    Last edited: May 2, 2012
  4. wtsinnc
    Offline

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Running XP Home Edition SP-2 with IE 8.
    SBIE, Keyscrambler, Malwarebytes on-demand, and Comodo Time Machine- all freeware and WinPatrol Plus with real-time monitoring.
    Eraser for secure file deletion.
    Imaging via freeware versions of Macrium and Paragon.
  5. Kees1958
    Offline

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    MBAM realtime is a blacklist based 'add-on', so do Wilders members count this as a naked setup yes/no :D
  6. Dark Shadow
    Offline

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    I dont count it as naked if any AV or AM are running real time,its just titled differently.
  7. STONEMAN
    Offline

    STONEMAN Registered Member

    Not in my book im affraid ;)
  8. Yanick
    Offline

    Yanick Registered Member

    Okay, okay point taken! :D
    Realtime is disabled :D
  9. moontan
    Offline

    moontan Registered Member

    not much really.

    running the Gufw front-end for the kernel firewall in Ubuntu 12.04

    NoScript anf Keepass.

    Terabytes IFW/IFD/IFL for imaging.
  10. Cyrano2
    Offline

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Just Comodo Firewall in real-time, I really think is more than enough.
  11. lws
    Offline

    lws Registered Member


    Sandboxie Pd., Private firewall, LUA.

    edit: No JRE or Adobe reader here either.
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  12. jmonge
    Offline

    jmonge Registered Member

    Faronics Anti-Excutable:thumb: :thumb:
  13. pegr
    Online

    pegr Registered Member

    If it weren't for the fact that I have to have a real-time antivirus enabled in order to connect to my work VPN, I wouldn't bother with real-time antivirus. I would just do occasional on-demand scans.

    For me, a combination of system-wide policy restriction (AppGuard) and system-wide virtualization (Shadow Defender) behind a router is enough real-time security. It provides silent but effective protection with no popups or decision making on my part.
  14. Kees1958
    Offline

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    No AppArmor restrictions on access?
  15. moontan
    Offline

    moontan Registered Member

    errr...

    that sounds like some complicated stuff that not doubt will allow me to trash my computer properly. :D
  16. Ashanta
    Offline

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Shadow Defender + secure add-ons with FF
  17. flatfly
    Offline

    flatfly Registered Member

    I haven't had a single infection for the last 5 years, while surfing 8h+ per day on average, including online banking and trying lots of apps all the time, with the following setup (100% free!):

    LUA+google chrome+WOT+Tiny Watcher+HitmanPro+googDNS+winFW. NO IE, JAVA, NO ADOBE (most common threat gates). I also recently added the excellent little-known ExeWatch to my setup.

    Os: xp sp3
  18. Sordid
    Offline

    Sordid Registered Member

    Yeah, awesome thread. The "what's your gear" threads are my faves.

    For Windows.

    32bit: Defensewall
    64bit: Comodo FWD+

    On demand if counting these:
    Hitman
    MBAM
    Norton Power Eraser
    McAfee GetSuspect

    Sandbox:
    SBoxIE

    CCleaner allowed to clean Temp <24hours

    Browser:
    Chrome Dev. C2P. No Java.

    Also like Safe Online browser components of Prev/Webroot, but they also by default include AV, so /nfm??

    Using The highly hated Trusteer Rapport on my dad's computer. Seems to be holding things down. Sometimes incompatible with Fox updates (what he uses). Biggest improvement was ditching Java for him. No, really.
  19. blasev
    Offline

    blasev Registered Member

    Sandboxie + LnS + EMET

    random choice of portable internet browser -> sandboxed by sandboxie

    EAM on demand

    No Java, No Adobe, NO IE
    I can't put my self to try SRP, maybe I will someday ;)

    update : almost forgot, my other main protection is virtual machine running linux distro / windows 7
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  20. Yanick
    Offline

    Yanick Registered Member

    Why not try this? ;) -hxxp://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=297834#post1862599- It's SRP, but much more simpler and works with Starter and Home editions :)
    Via Parental Controls ;)
  21. blasev
    Offline

    blasev Registered Member

    yes, I haven't tried that
    but it seems much simpler, will give it a go in the future

    thanks :thumb:
  22. Yanick
    Offline

    Yanick Registered Member

    Yea it is :) it has whitelist function, very simple :)
    No problem ;)
  23. 1chaoticadult
    Offline

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Comodo Firewall & Defense+ Sandboxie and HitmanPro.
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  24. Kees1958
    Offline

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    I have asked it before and will do it again. Using Parential Control as an executable control is really a brilliant way to use this. It deserves its own thread with a small setup guide. Who has the time and knowledge to post?

    Combined with the deny unsigned programs elevation of UAC (through registry) makes a super solid security setup (and super light) within hand reach of every Win7 Home owner.

    So who shows how it is done?
  25. kupo
    Offline

    kupo Registered Member

    I used to use Parental Control as anti-exe. But I noticed this behavior in my box.
    1. You can't install a software in your Standard User even if you allow the setup and run as administrator. (I can't remember if an error will show up or nothing will happen.)
    2. To install on an admin account, if you are currently logged in as Standard User, you must restart and log in to your admin account. If you just logged off, the same thing will happen in case 1.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.