What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. woomera

    woomera Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    211
    weird i had the same issue with firefox when installed AVG Pro, im starting to feel this is Firefox's fault not the av's.
    had to ditch AVG cause of that, shame.
     
  2. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    Poland
    I did it :), PrivateFirewall is running flawlessly on my old laptop :thumb:
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,955
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I'm not too sure who's fault it is. I've run WSA essentials with private firewall and comodo firewall. Neither had any issue's. I do think that either shadowdefender or sandboxie or both combined are creating some issue for WSA. Either way I'm not giving up SD or sandboxie so its a mute point. I'll keep trying WSA ever few builds to see if it gets fixed.
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    did you set internet security and network to high?.....also did you check process monitor along with email anomaly in settings?...
     
  5. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    Poland
    Yes. I've enabled system anomaly detection, process detection and changed alerts' behavior to manual control.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    OA and webroot is cool:thumb:
     
  7. lubieplacki

    lubieplacki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Poland
    PC:

    EAM / MBAM PRO / KeyScrambler Pro / HitmanPro 3.6 on demand
    Chrome + AB + Ghostery + DNT+

    Notebook:

    CIS + KeyScrabler Pro
    Chrome + ABP

    What you think aobut it guys?
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,594
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
  9. lubieplacki

    lubieplacki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Poland
    Forgot to list it, I use it on my PC :)
     
  10. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    switched from NoScript to ScriptNo in Chrome.
    because of Chrome's sandbox.

    i will certainly try Firefox and NoScript again when Firefox has a sandbox, hopefully soon this year.
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    i am going for my third week with Emsisoft Firewall 5.5 and it's here to stay strong and secure:thumb: :thumb:
     
  12. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    A three week Anniversary party yea.:thumb:
     
  13. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    removed ScriptNo and added Ghostery instead.

    i found ScriptNo slowed down the loading of pages too much.
     
  14. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Should be on the guinness world record :) :) :)
     
  15. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,014
    Location:
    USA,IA
    running Avast 7 free and sandboxie paid on main laptop

    also running Appguard on lock down mode on my netbook
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,255
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    What you may like about Ghostery, (which is helpful IMO) is we get to view just what blocked ads/bugs have been pushed on the page "in real time". Noted with a strike thru them, and additional info if desired. :thumb:
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    can Ghostery do what AdMucner does?
     
  19. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    What function of AdMuncher are you talking about?
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    blocking fying adds or adults ads
     
  21. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    It blocks trackers which may result in blocking ads, but not all ads will be blocked :D. So my guess is not, but it does blocks Social widgets that are annoying, lol.
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,870
    Location:
    Canada
    good enough:thumb:
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,936
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    no ghostery for me.....got fanboy's ultimate list for that.......
     
  24. flaubert71

    flaubert71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    Windows 7 64 bit

    Realtime:
    -EAM 6.0.0.57(paid)
    -OA Premium 5.5.0.1557(paid)
    -Sandboxie 3.66(set to experimental protection for 64 bit)
    -ad muncher 4.93 beta build 33116(premium)
    -roboform everywhere 7.7.5(paid)

    On demand:
    -MBAM
    -Hitman pro
    -TDSS killer
    -Emsisoft emergency kit
    -HiJackThis
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  25. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,481
    I have Fanboy's list in Adblock Plus in Chrome. Does that do what Ghostery does?