What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,488
    There might have been a conflict somewhere between 3 new programs Online Armor, EAM and Ad Muncher, there were problems in browsing. Removed Ad Muncher and added back Ad Block Plus to Chrome. Turned off the Guards in EAM and will add them back one at a time. Online Armor is doing really well, I think it's been improved since I tried it last about half a year ago.
     
  2. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
  3. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,247
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Good choice :thumb:

    There is an known issue with EAM and Ad Muncher. Look at the quote from Shadek below and also on Emsisoft forums: http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/6617-ad-muncher-issue/

     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  4. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,324
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Seeing that Avast isnt doin that good in detection or removal as of now what should i add to compliment it ? i was waiting for the prevx/wsa safeonline version but its still in the process
     
  5. Lucius

    Lucius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    67
    Realtime:
    KIS 2012
    MBAM PRO
    Ad Muncher

    On Demand:
    Hitman pro
    CCE

    Feels so light and secure and everything.. Don't even wanna try anything else! :p
     
  6. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,367
    Look'n'Stop 2.07 (Phant0m's Ruleset)
    AppGuard 3.2 (Lockdown)
    Sandboxie 3.62 (Restricted)
    KeyScrambler 2.9 (Premium) Updated+Upgraded
    Shadow Defender 1.1.0.325 (Always in ShadowMode)

    Macrium Reflect 4.2

    System Explorer ~ AdMuncher ~ OpenDNS ~ Opera
     
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    are there any updating issues for programs forced to always run in sandboxie? I'm thinking of running FF and Iron to always open in SBIE but only if they will be able to go ahead and update.

    On the other hand, I watched some GeSWall usage videos and some of the videos claim that trusted programs in GeSWall can update normally. Is that accurate?
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @The_ChamP
    sandboxie and a good hips like spyshelter or fw with hips like private fw or comodo fw.......or better...switch to panda cloud until avast 7 comes out.......




    @acr1965
    here you go ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    i put Webroot SecureAnywhere settings to the max;) :thumb:
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    a lot of whoops if settings to max........
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    not here buddy:)
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    really?.....wsa goes nuts in max set.....flagging anything and everything in it's path.....from hmp to ccleaner....
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    Emsisoft Anti-Malware 6.0:thumb: :thumb:
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    how's eam in fps J? ........
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,873
    Location:
    Canada
    none at all:)
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    great :thumb: :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  18. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    ok thanks for the info...do you know about GeSWall?
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    didn't use geswall.....can't tell....but the info should also be applicable to geswall......
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Norton DNS
    Webroot SecureAnywhere
    Sandboxie
    Malwarebytes Antimalware
    Hitman Pro
    Keriver 1-Click Restore

     
  21. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    ok thanks, I just seen that GeSWall had not been updated in a while so I suppose I'll wait for version 3 to come out. I guess it's a good idea for me to just decide to stick with sbie and learn how to use it as opposed to switching between DW, SBIE, GW, etc trying to find one I like.
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    great :thumb:.....just be careful with the resource access settings....backup the os before making changes.......I remember making changes in the file access and registry access messed up my pc....especially when adding items to the blocked access and read-only ......couldn't open mbam, macrium, ccleaner, outlook, etc.......had to reinstall sbie keeping it in default settings......
     
  23. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    The few times I tried WSA it was flagging legit programs like Hitman Pro and thats at medium settings.That was enough for me 1,2 3,strikes its out.
     
  24. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    I think I'll just keep everything at default settings except for my browser I force into SBIE. Maybe I'll do that with either FF or one of the chrome variants.
     
  25. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,957
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Geswall and appguard. Nice combo. Light and tight.