What exactly does Winpatrol Free do?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Gullible Jones, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Okay... on ako's freeware list it's described as a lightweight classical HIPS. But as far as I can tell, it's a poller, exclusively a poller, and nothing but a poller, with no capability to block anything.

I assume the freeware list is incorrect on this? Or does Winpatrol also use userspace hooking?

2. Ibrad

Ibrad Registered Member

It using Polling but the PRO (PLUS) version uses hooking. It may not be your number 1 tool in computer security but its very handy :D

3. Ah, thanks... Unfortunately I figured as much.

4. justenough

justenough Registered Member

Since I am still learning about this stuff, I have to ask, is polling as worthless as it sounds here? And is hooking a big enough improvement over polling to make it worth the upgrade?

5. Is polling worthless? Well... pretty much yes, AFAIK. Sure, a poller could tell you something bad happened after the fact, but there's no reason the malware couldn't subvert the poller and keep it quiet.

Is hooking that much better? Well for some sorts there are exploits that can bypass it (e.g. SSDT hooks and the TOCTOU thing)... I'm fairly hazy on that. Suffice to say it provides some protection, whereas polling provides none whatsoever and may not even give a useful warning.

Is it worth the upgrade? Well, seeing how sucky the free version appears to be I'm not sure I'd trust Pro...

6. sg09

sg09 Registered Member

Oops..o_O

7. Ibrad

Ibrad Registered Member

PLUS is worth it :thumb:

8. justenough

I know nothing about polling and hooking, but these make me wonder about your post:

http://download.cnet.com/WinPatrol/3000-8022_4-10129149.html

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,22728-page,1-c,security/description.html (look at user reviews there)

http://majorgeeks.com/WinPatrol_d3380.html (4.78 there)