What AV does the experts here use?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Toulmin, Aug 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Toulmin

Toulmin Guest

What antivirus does the experts of this forum (like IBK, Blackspear etc) uses? Why? McAfee? NOD32? KAV? NAV?....

2. IBK

IBK AV Expert

On-demand I use all, on-access for obvious reasons none. I have an idea about which AV I will probably install on the laptop I should get in some weeks, but I will not tell it (I do not want to make publicity for anyone).

3. Toulmin

Toulmin Guest

Come on IBK, it´s not publicity, it´s just an opinion...:)
    Please, tell us! Or just tell the three Avs that you would use...

4. hbkh

hbkh Registered Member

Ahh, the smell of an av war is in the air... :D

5. rdsu

rdsu Registered Member

IBK is right to not put here his choice because he is an independent AV tester...

I'm not an AV expert, but you can see for example the tests on the AV Comparatives and decide what kind of protection do you want to have. A more proactive or a more based on signatures...

The rest, you have to try some of them to see which works better for your needs and system... ;)

6. Capp

Capp Registered Member

What do you consider as "expert" ;)

I wouldn't call myself an expert, but more along the lines of someone who loves doing what they do. :p

I use NOD32 as my main av on most pc's. I use Bitdefender, AVG, Avast, F-Prot, blah blah blah. I use them for different reasons. Kinda depends on what I want it to do.

Capp <--- Not an expert, but close ;) hahaha

7. Ericsson

Ericsson Guest

Does any of the experts uses McAfee VSE 8.0i??

8. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

Used it for awhile VS 8.0i, it is a very good antivirus. At present I am useing eTrust R7.1 enterprise antivirus, Really like it a lot.

9. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

I use either Poopscan or Diddlyscan. Further comments on Poopscan can be found in posts 31 onwards here