Want to purchase simple back-up product.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MarieBoyer, Jun 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarieBoyer

MarieBoyer Registered Member

I have heard that Acronis True Image and Norton's backup product are both good. I am a newbie. Would you recommend Acronis for simplicity and "idiot proofing"? o_O

If so, can I purchase at Best Buy or do I need to order on-line?

I already have Systemworks 2005. Would the Norton product be similar and therefore more user-friendly? o_O

2. neuron2

neuron2 Registered Member

No backup product is idiot proof.

I find Acronis to be easy to use and it meets (in fact, surpasses) my needs and expectations. It also does not require me to install the .NET framework. :)

3. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

Acronis has a 15-day trial version online which you can install and try to see if it suits your needs.

4. doodallybloke

doodallybloke Registered Member

That's very true. The 15 day trial period I mean. However the download is 21Gb and the Build is 859, which is why I went for the CD version on a previous build because of all the controversy over 859.

The general consensus here is to wait for the new 860 (!!!) Build to arrive... at least I think that is what I'm reading!

Just my small input.

Doodallybloke

(wish I knew what all these small buttons are for when I reply to any message. I have icons and smilies everywhere... ha)

5. MarieBoyer

Thank you. When is that due?

p.s. Can I make a backup with the trial version, save that for time-being and then buy the 860 version on CD?

6. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

Yes, you can make a backup with the trial version ... the "fixed" version is out now ... see another thread ... I think it is named build 889.

7. Donprovo

Donprovo Registered Member

To answer your questions: