w32/sality.nau and it goes on and on and on

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by aquaa, Jan 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aquaa

aquaa Registered Member

This is my first time i am posting a thread and new user of eset nod32. i am highly impressed with teh performance it was giving and also system resource friendly.

It was when i scanned a usb drive and scanned it with nod32. it caught w32/sality.nau virus and from that point further it caught many more exe files in my system which were from trusted and installed products/softwares. it went on quarntining those files and deleted all of them from quarantine. after that i decided to scan the system in safe mode. to my surprise my system refused to start in safe mode too. now i m scanning my system with ethernet connection disabled and now its not showing any more warnings. kinldy tell if anybody else got this w32/sality.nau virus problem and afterwards all exe of your trusted applications got corrupted....

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

If you want to start in Safe Mode , you can use the MSCONFIG utility in Windows

Windows XP => Start -> Run -> type msconfig and press [ENTER].
    Windows Vista => Vista button -> in the Search line type msconfig and press [ENTER] to start it.

In the "Boot" tab you can choose the appropriate options.

More information:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315222

Permanent solution to fix the F8 way to enter Safe Mode is to perform Repair of your Windows OS

Sality is a virus/file infector.If NOD32 has no cleaning algorythm it will offer you to delete the infected file. ESET Labs should check the files and create a way for NOD32 actually clean file infected files,if possible.