Vista - Bootable CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by wjgray, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wjgray

wjgray Registered Member

I just know I am doing SOMETHING wrong... just don't know what.

Newbie to Acronis. So, I've created Bootable Rescue Media. It only allowed me to create this to an ISO. There was no option to burn directly to CD/DVD. So, how do I get that ISO to CD and ensure that the CD is bootable?

2. thomasjk

thomasjk Registered Member

Use Nero or someother burning software. You will need to burn it as "image".

3. wjgray

wjgray Registered Member

OK. Sorry, but I am new to this stuff. I apologize for being so much the neophyte. Perhaps I bought the wrong backup solution. Perhaps I didn't. Maybe somebody here can kinda talk me through this??

Perhaps a bit of context will help! ...

I was alerted that my brand new HP dv9000 HDD is about to blow (pixie error and then self test returns what HP support says is an emminent HDD failure).

So, I bought Acronis on a recommendation and created a disc image to my MV2020 (HPMedaiVault on network). I've also created daily incrementals using TI. All seems to be going REAL WELL with that.

HP sent me a replacement HDD and I am now trying to get to that.

I fired up Acronis to create a recovery disc and it creates an ISO.

Based on the what thomasjk said I went and got ImgBurn (cannot afford $80 for Nero) and tried to create a bootable CD. It burned the CD (filled it up) and moved the tiny ISO that Acronis created to it.

So, I think I have all the pieces now...

But... It didn't work. At boot the cursor blinks and blinks (and blinks some more) but never does anything at all. So, I then tried to burn a DVD. Same deal.