virus problem

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by rob94, Dec 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rob94

rob94 Registered Member

Hi guys im new to wilders security forums, and i am a little computer savy. So if you can help i would appreciate it. i have a problem when i turn on my computer all my files and folders are half working. my virus protector is half working and i scaned for the problem and i came up with this c:\windows\system32\ie4uinit.exe if some one came help on how to take this off or what to do. thankso_O

2. thanatos_theos

thanatos_theos Registered Member

rob94, welcome to Wilders!

According to this website, ie4uinit.exe is not malware. What is your antivirus? It might be a false positive detection. To be sure, you scan ie4uinit.exe here. Do not post the results of the scan here.

Is your antivirus VirusProtectPro? It is a rogueware. I suggest you uninstall it. Start => Control Panel => Add or remove programs. Scan your PC with the ff:

Avira Antivir PE Classic
    SuperAntiSpyware Free
    Rogue Remover Free

thanatos

3. rob94

rob94 Registered Member

i have McAfee virus prtector, and it keeps telling me that im not protected. so i scan for updates and it tells me that im updated and stills says im not protected. I also have spyware doctor and ive scanned that and cleaned up spyware but still nothingo_O?

4. HURST

HURST Registered Member

Download superantispyware free, update definitions and scan. That might help.

5. thanatos_theos

thanatos_theos Registered Member

Are you using VirusScan 10? I think it is normal for the Mcafee Security Center to bug you with "not being protected" if the antivirus is the only one installed. Just to be sure your PC is clean, see this thread and consult an expert.

Mcafee SuperDat

thanatos

Last edited: Dec 10, 2007
  6. kurchatovium

kurchatovium Registered Member