Virtualization in Avast Pro 5.0-How Exactly Does It Work ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Securon, Mar 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Securon

Securon Registered Member

Good Afternoon ! Currently using Avast Pro 5.0 and as you know one of it's features is Virtualization. Being a newbie I placed Firefox 3.6 in Virtualization Mode, and in doing so a thin red strip appears around the perimeter of the browser, does this indicate it's activated ? And as a footnote how exactly does it work ? Sincerely...Securon

2. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

If you got the red border that is an indication that it is indeed working for you. I have never been able to get it to work on my box even after following instructions to the letter...:rolleyes: :)

3. NoIos

NoIos Registered Member

Yes, the red line indicates it's activated. To be sure you could also check if in
    Process Virtualization menu in Avast, Firefox appears as a virtualized process. How exactly it works I don't really know. What I know is the running process/application cannot harm the rest of the system if virtualized...at least this is what sandboxes promise to do.

4. NoIos

NoIos Registered Member

I have lost the right click option: run virtualized but I can start virtualized processes from inside avast's interface and all work well, including the red line. I have noticed that the red line and the virtualization does not work, if for example you have already opened a firefox window ( but this could be normal ).

5. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

I can't get Firefox or IE to open at all. Someday I will look into it more. Otherwise the Suite seems to run great...

6. whitedragon551

whitedragon551 Registered Member