virtualbox how can i install a software ?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by mantra, Nov 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

mantra Registered Member

Hi

i download virtualbox , i know there is a portable version but i did not understand about the benefits of the portable version

well i'm a true image 9 users and i want to try paragon ,but there are conflicts between the 2 programs

they suggests to me to try it under a virtual machine or uninstall true image

well i would like to try it under virtual machine
    it's my first time , i use virtual box

i did a search with google but i found lots of tutorials about installing different os (like ubuntu or windows 7) under virutal box

i did not find a tutorial about install a software like paragon

well is there a tutorial that teach me how configure virtual box to isolate a program?

i'm under xp pro sp3 and sandboxie doesn't work
    thanks
    have a nice day

2. Sully

Sully Registered Member

Virtual box is a program that when you run it, it creates a window, which emulates a computer within that window. You set it normally by choosing what OS you will be installing, and giving it the size of the virtual harddrive space. Then, when you start the virtual box up, you will see a bios screen, just like your real machine does, only it is inside of a window.

After this you put a cd in or use an .iso (which the virtual machine can mount on its virtual cd rom) and then install the OS. It is just like you would see in the real box, install just the same. Once install of OS is done, then you will see windows or linux just like you normally would, only it is inside a window.

After this you can install programs, download, etc etc, into the virtual box, and it behaves just like the real world programs do.