virtualbox dilemma.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by The Red Moon, Jun 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

The Red Moon Registered Member

Greetings forum,
    I have decided to download oracle virtualbox and it is sitting in my downloads folder for the time being.
    I have never used this program before ever so i am a little apprehensive about using it.
    I understand i can download an ISO of any operating system to run in the virtual box.
    This is where i am getting a bit stuck with this,Ive seen on a different website that i can download a 500mb iso of ubuntu os.
    When i have downloaded this iso is it simply a case of using the downloaded iso to insert into the virtualbox or does it need to be burned on to cds?
    500mb seems a lot of data to be burning to cd.
    Im very sorry to trouble you with this as im a complete novice with virtualbox.
    Could you help me with this dilemma please?

Kind regards. :doubt:

2. TheMozart

TheMozart Former Poster

Virtualbox loads the ISO, no need to burn it :thumb:

If you want help, watch some youtube videos about it. That may be helpful. For example:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNGM0kv3zYY

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/iso

And once you follow that video and learn how it works, then you do the same with your Linux ISO.

Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  3. aladdin

aladdin Registered Member

Dear TheMozart,

I have never used Linux. Maybe, I should give it a try in a virtual environment.

What is the best Linux distro?

Is is called, "distro"?

Best regards,

KOR!

4. pajenn

pajenn Registered Member

I'm by no means a linux expert, but when I was looking into the same question, I came down to Linux Mint (64-bit):
    http://linuxmint.com/download.php