Virtual Mode

Discussion in 'General Returnil discussions' started by puff-m-d, Apr 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d
    Offline

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Hello,

    This is probably a dumb question with the answers somewhere staring me in the face, but I cannot find them. Is it possible to do either (or both) of the following scenarios with Returnil?

    First scenario: Having virtual mode set to discard all changes on reboot, but being able to override that so everything will be saved?

    Second scenario: Having virtual mode set to save all changes on reboot, but being able to override and have them discarded?

    Both scenarios present unique benefits but I just want to be sure Returnil is capable of doing this and the procedures involved As you can tell I am very new to Returnil and am considering adding it to my lineup.

    Thanks in advance for any help and input that you can give.
  2. Coldmoon
    Online

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Hi puff-m-d,
    Yes to both, but you have to do it manually through the Virtual Mode > Settings > Exit from Virtual Mode option depending on what your default setting is per your scenarios.

    NOTE: Once you change the setting manually, you will need to go back to this setting and return it to the setting you want as default. This means that whatever you change the setting to, will be remembered at restart so you need to be cautious when using the options here...

    Mike
  3. puff-m-d
    Offline

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for the response!

    Has it ever been considered to have an advance mode per say, that would prompt you at shutdown as to whether to drop all changes or save all data? I think this would be an excellent option for the more advanced user that would like both more control and simplified methods to implementing it.
  4. Coldmoon
    Online

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    There are downsides to the idea:

    1. Disk level virtualization: because the Virtual Mode is disk, rather than application filter based, the VM is on for all users when another user simply logs out of their account. This means you could inadvertently set up a land mine for other users depending on which setting is on at that particular moment.

    2. Advanced users: are exactly that and would know when to have the VM active and when not to have it active so the addition of more settings could get confusing.

    3. typical component use: The VM is not used as always on for some users; especially consumers and advanced users who tend toward manual activation of the VM with given scenarios. For our cafe/public access customers, the VM is most often set as always on and only released when there is need for a tech or admin to make specific changes to a given system; otherwise, the system does not require micro-management.

    Mike
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.