Virtual Box

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Chuck57, May 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chuck57

Chuck57 Registered Member

http://www.virtualbox.org/

Thanks Aigle.

I downloaded this today after seeing the mention of it in the long, long, Powershadow thread.

I'm fairly new with this sort of thing, but have to say that even I figured it out in minutes, without reading the instructions (I seldom read instructions until I'm totally screwed up). I've used VMware and Microsoft's virtualization programs, but both were heavy on my system. This one isn't.

I can't comment much on the other virtualization software except the two I mentioned, but can say that virtual box is open source - free - very full featured, and fairly intuitive enough that even a fool like me can use it with ease. I noticed only a slight hit in resources. I much prefer it to VMware and MS's virtual thing.

Again, thank you aigle. This one is staying on my machine.

2. aigle

aigle Registered Member

You are welcome. I too like it very much, though I use my Virtual Machine very rarely.

3. Chuck57

I probably won't use it a lot, since I use powershadow to look at the things I do download, but I can see uses for it. I haven't got into it enough to know all the tricks or exactly how it works. I did load a couple of things and played with them a bit. I'll have to break down and read the instructions before I get into it much more. Some things are just worth having, and this virtual box is one of them, in my opinion.

4. EASTER.2010

EASTER.2010 Guest

VMware is way too heavy on resources IMO and is too slow, no crisp response at all, just delays.

Virtual Box i tried sometime ago and i like it also, although those type apps are completely unneccessary if you have FD-ISR or even Power Shadow IMHO.

5. Chuck57

I like it because it's open source and pretty full featured as it is, and they're working on adding more things to it.

6. innerpeace