Various error problems with Nod32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by DDCchik, Mar 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DDCchik

DDCchik Registered Member

I have been a long time user (since the 80s) of Symantec Products but decided to use Nod32 on this computer (one of 4) as a test because their performance has been so consistently highly rated. It is the full version not a trial and I have been running it for about 9 months. I am not as familiar with Nod32 as I am with other AV products although I have used several over the years.

Nod32 has recently - about the last 4 weeks - started to ask me to make Outlook my default email client. The error message comes up on each startup of the computer and each time I open Nod32 to do a manual scan. I would need a gun held to my head before I would use Outlook for anything. I use Mozilla as my default browser and my default email client. How can I disable this error message or have Nod32 recognise Mozilla as the default?

Nod32 is not automatically updating even though it is set to update on connection. I can manually update but only after about 4 error messages about the download file being corrupt. What settings do I need to change to have the updates operate correctly?

When scanning I get a message that Pagefile.sys is 'locked' by another application and can't be scanned. There is no reason that this should be the case. This error occurred from the day of installation on a brand new computer and before any other security software was loaded. I can't find a registry entry that is not standard relevant to pagefile.sys. It is set to 512MB rather than dymanic.

My apologies if these have been answered elsewhere and I've missed them.

AMD 1900 Notebook, XP Pro (OEM), Office XP (OEM), Nod32, Outpost, Tauscan

2. optigrab

optigrab Registered Member

Hi DDCchik,

I wonder if the following thread will help with your "Outlook" problem.