using multiple vpns with vpn-firewall

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by darren2015, Jan 14, 2015.

1. darren2015

darren2015 Registered Member

Im currently running a setup with VPN with openvpn in my host os(mint) with adrelanos vpn-firewall to kill the internet traffic if the vpn drops and to make sure I dont connect directly from my ISP on bootup.

But im also running a guest os (xubuntu) with virtualbox and with a second vpn. This works fine. But I would like to harden the setup with using adrelanos vpn-firewall inside the guest also. But if I try to install the vpnfirewall , edit the script adding the vpn server IP , it doesnt work. The vpnfirewall in the guest blocks the vpn inside the guest.

The setup im going for is ISP -> VPN -> VPN -> Internet

Would really appreciate any help regarding this matter. Am I going at it all wrong ?

FYI im a beginner with linux , currently learning:)

2. krustytheclown2

krustytheclown2 Registered Member

If you just set the VPN connection to "Automatically Connect" in Network Manager, then your connection will only be allowed to go through the VPN and will drop when the VPN is interrupted. There's a few seconds upon initializing the VPN connection where it'll leak but that shouldn't be a huge issue as long as you keep it in mind

In practice, a VPN dropping randomly is very rare at least with the providers I've had, maybe once a year

3. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

That should work. For /usr/bin/vpnfirewall in the guest, you should specify the IP address of the VPN server that the guest is connecting to. But maybe that's obvious. Also, in vpnfirewall, you must use the VPN server IP address, not its hostname. In a root terminal, use "host" to get the IP address from the hostname.

4. darren2015

thanks for the input guys.