Username/Password ?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 1 Forum' started by Ryan Hayward, Dec 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ryan Hayward

    Ryan Hayward Guest

    Is the username/password supposed to be sent automatically after signing up ?

    If so, I am still yet to recieve it after around 2 days.
    My isp's pop may have been playing up at the time.

    If the username/password is sent manually, will I recieve it soon or are the staff at NOD32 on holidays for awhile ?

    I just wish to know what is going on as there was no information after signing up and your faqs kinda suggests that the username/password is created instantly...... o_O
     
  2. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    I received mine almost instantly but that could depend on where you are and who is doing the processing. The USA site states you will get the confirming email in less than one hour. Mine was on my mail server as soon as I opened my email client after registering.

    Phil
     
  3. thunderhurst

    thunderhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    If you recieved it instantly then it is scripted so I too should had recieved mine.
    Waiting on email from support but do not know if they are on holidays :)
    Phone support for Australia is nonexistant, judging from the busy signals....
    I hope I can email sales with no dramas....
     
  4. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Australia, huh. Check the mods of this forum for "Rodzilla" and see if he put an email addy in his profile. I think he *is* your NOD distributor. Shoot him an e and tell him I said to get off his butt and get your registration to you. :D :D

    If no addy is there, send an IM or email to the forum administrator. He can contact them for you. Hope this helps you get it sorted.

    Phil
     
  5. thunderhurst

    thunderhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks Phil !

    I'll give them until next Wednesday to respond as I should be patient, given the time of year.

    I'm sure they'll come good in the end !

    The Australian distribution may not be scripted to auto send username/passwords then ?
    If so then I guess I have little to worry about.
    I just assumed by the faqs and your reply that it was Nod32 that issued them.
     
  6. thunderhurst

    thunderhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    I just called them again and got through this time.
    Support were good and said that the username/password is not autoscripted out and that they do it manually.
    Said it should be processed today.

    Thanks for your time, Phil.
    I appreciate your it !
     
  7. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    That's good news -- glad you got through. They are very responsive once you get your hands on them, though that can be problematic at times. IMO, you made a good decision choosing NOD.

    You're welcome.

    Phil
     
  8. thunderhurst

    thunderhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Nod32 is certainly better than the bloated resource-hungry ***** out there like McAfee and Norton.
    Those two are typical *****, they try to sell you all their other products when you are on their websites at inflated prices. Have you noticed how their distributors usually sell their stock at up to 40 percent off their own marked price ?
    If you ask me, they are all marketing over end -product.
    People assume they are actually getting their money's worth for a fine product as they ***** all the reviewers to give them high scores.

    A friend of mine has Nod32 so I am familar with its interface and know how light it is on system resources.
    Should compliment my sygate firewall which too is light on memory leeching :)

    some bashing removed - we are not in the habit of other software bashing. Praising NOD32 will do ;) - Forum Admin
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hey Ryan, orders are processed manually in Australia, and you should find support is pretty good, not that you should ever need it... :D

    You have made a great choice :D

    Cheers.
     
  10. thunderhurst

    thunderhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Just downloaded then after receiving username/password.
    Installation went well and was amazed at how small the filesize was and at how quickly she scanned.
    Great to see virus definitions were quick to download too. Norton was a bitch to deal with !

    Recieved this error message but is probably standard for windows XP.

    C:\pagefile.sys - error opening [4]

    [4] Could not read the file. The file is used by another application (or the operating system) with exclusive rights.

    :)
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,370
    The error number 4 is related to WinNT/2000/XP systems and the system files they use (usually only pagefile.sys andf hibernate.sys, however the number will raise if you choose all files for scanning).

    Probably the option to ommit system files from scanning will be added
    to one of the future updates of NOD32.
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Found it is no longer showing the above error message in Nod32 V2 :D

    Cheers.
     
  13. thunderhurst

    thunderhurst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    I see.
    Can the particular system file get infected ?
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thunderhurst,

    No, it can't ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/reskit/prdg_dsm_pmpr.asp

    Files Skipped by Default
    Files that Backup skips by default include temporary files, such as Pagefile.sys, Hiberfil.sys, Win386.swp, 386spart.par, Backup.log, and Restore.log. These files are neither backed up nor restored by Backup.

    Backup also skips files on remote computers that are on a network share if the files are in use at the time of the backup.

    Cheers :D

    - Fixed URL (LowWaterMark)
     
  16. controler

    controler Guest

    Manual update: o_O

    Username-password stopped working.
    wrote to eset , requesting a new password.
    eset wrote back saying gee if the old one works use it.
    I uninstalled NOD, reinstalled, creating a new username-password on install, rebooted and tried the manual update again. Their server won't allow me the update, saying WRAONG username-password.
    I am guessing others are having this same problem using Windows XP
     
  17. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Thought it was just me.

    Went back to the 'old' NOD32 after un-installing the beta and now it's not taking my username/password, either (stays in the "Trial" mode). Pete
     
  18. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    controler,

    Feel free to forward both your email and Eset's response to me: webmaster@wilders.org

    Pete,

    If you feel like it, drop me an email as well, describing in short the prob and coming with your license info.

    Let's see if we can solve this one quickly - although it might take some days since it's weekend ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  19. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Seems installing the beta causes a little goof in the user/pass GUI. What you have to do, even though it is already there, is delete what IS there and re-enter the same user/pass or copy/paste from another app. I use my password utility but any text editor will work to keep from having to type it every time.

    HTH
    Phil
     
  20. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Humm -- that *is* interesting. I haven't tried to revert to the release version yet. See if the info I provided Controller above will register the app. If not, ESET needs to get this fixed - NOW. :eek:

    Phil
     
  21. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Phil,

    "Now" is at once - can't be done ;). Let's take the obvious route: sending me an email.

    regards.

    paul
     
  22. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Email sent, Paul.

    Thanks. Pete
     
  23. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Nah -- "now" is a relative term. Could mean "this minute" -- could mean "before summer". :D

    What I *should* have said was - as soon as they can. Better? :)

    Phil
     
  24. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I like it :D

    regards.

    paul
     
  25. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Well, mine's fixed.

    Somehow or another, I did manage to d/l the trial version instead of the corporate version (might have had something to do with Opera not presenting me with the "Username/Password" prompt when I first attempted the d/l - used IE this time and all went well).

    Thanks to all here and Anton from Eset! Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.