usb drive recommendations?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by digger65, May 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. digger65

digger65 Registered Member

Hi, new to the forum ut just wanted to ask a quick Q regarding data storage and USB
    I am looking into something like Freecom Toughdrive for backing up onto, does anyone have experience of these or perhaps could recommend a cheapish solution as i could easily back up onto 4-6 Gig drive
    Perhaps a small pen flash drive?
    regards
    J.J.

2. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

Don't know about the Toughdrive. I always buy my enclosure separate and the drive separate. That's the cheapest way to go. The flash drives will be expensive unless you want to save only your data. IN which case, for only data, you can also burn that to a CD - even cheaper than a flash drive.

3. digger65

digger65 Registered Member

thanks..
    i am new to this but if i want to back up around 30 G of data i presume it will be over a few discs and that I should go for maximum compession
    How does this relate to disk clone?
    will I be able to clone over several disks without issue?
    It seems from the posts on this board that cloning and backing up to Cd is not without it's difficulties and i want to verify that my data is safe without having to load the back up to find out and in the process erase my hd?
    thanks again..
    JJ

4. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

5. GroverH

GroverH Registered Member

I am in the market to buy an enclosure and looking for a quality product.

I looked at the Enermax 305C link. It looks very nice but it does not have any cooling fans. Since heat is a major cause of hard drive failure, isn't the one with fans bettero_O?

Any other enclosure suggestions for a 3.5" drive that you might recommend.

6. TheWeaz

TheWeaz Registered Member

7. bVolk

bVolk Registered Member