Update does not work

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 1 Forum' started by bibbe, Jan 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bibbe

    bibbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Sweden
    After the latest update, 20030117, my scanner stopped working, saying "in swedish" NOD32 caused a fault in unknown.

    Bibbe
     
  2. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
  3. bibbe

    bibbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well I saw that there was a problem with the beta, but I am running the old one.

    Bibbe
     
  4. average Joe

    average Joe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    I am also having a problem with the latest update - 1.347 20030117. (This is with the "old" NOD32 not the beta.) I'm using Win98SE.

    After this update when I either right-click scan, or do a complete system scan, I get "This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shutdown."

    Any suggestions?

    I've been using NOD32 for over a year without a single problem. Prior to this update there have been no major changes to my system, and no other problems.

    Edit: marti, I posted before I read your link. It looks like this is happening on both the "old" and beta versions. :(
     
  5. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    I also am having a problem with the non-beta on a machine. It is a new install, so I can't say if it happened before, but at least with the latest update (1.347) it causes an illegal operation in Win98 during the memory scan of NOD32 full scan.
     
  6. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    Just went back (uninstalled and reinstalled) to 1.346 and the problem went away. So it is a problem with the latest update (1.347) causing the illegal operation on the memory check.

    BTW, is there an easier way to return to a prior version than uninstalling and reinstalling? Something like a switch (-f) to force the update even if it's an earlier version?
     
  7. bibbe

    bibbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hej Stephen, what do you do only to update to 1.346 and not to 1.347

    bibbe
     
  8. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    It seems that Eset released update 1.348 fairly soon after these reports, so I guess the problem was a 1.347 one only.
     
  9. average Joe

    average Joe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Update 1.348 fixed the problem for me too! :)
     
  10. Jaewyn

    Jaewyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Posts:
    30
    Strange, I downloaded the french trial yesterday, and it is the 1.346. I have not been told about a 1.347 or 1.348 :)
     
  11. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Unless you have instructed NOD32 to perform updates automaticly in chosen intervals, you should update manually using the Control Center - give it a try.

    regards.

    paul
     
  12. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    I administer the mirror for our network and had saved the prior update (1.346) to another folder. So, I put that update back and uninstalled/reinstalled NOD32 and it only found update 1.346 at the central update point on our network.
     
  13. daweed

    daweed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    I have 2 questions:

    1/
    when i attempt a update the sign comes up"Server Connection could not be established"
    when I check in control centre , in servers, there are "none"
    showing.
    please advise what the "Server Connection" is can enter here to enable me to download.
    2/
    My emails are "Not" being scanned!Can u adv what the problem may be?
    thanks
    Daweed
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    daweed,

    1) servers: a) www.nod32.com b) www.eset.sk . Try a) first.

    2) what email client are you using?

    regards,

    paul
     
  15. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
  16. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hey Stephen,
    update to the latest database version (1.349 now) should solve the problem - is your central update point updated from our webserver properly?

    regards,

    jan
     
  17. Jaewyn

    Jaewyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Posts:
    30
    Oh, about the updater. "Quiet" or "Silence" mode (don't know how it is written in english, in french the checkbox labels "mode silencieux"), does it mean we will not have a popup message when the database is updated ? :)
     
  18. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    Thanks, jan,

    One other thing...

    Do you have an answer to the other question in my original post in this thread? Is it possible, if I put back an older version on the network mirror, to force an update to an older version of NOD32? i.e. if this happens again in the future and I put an older version on the mirror, can I get the clients to update to the older version without uninstalling/reinstalling?

    Thanks,

    Steve
     
  19. rodzilla

    rodzilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Posts:
    653
    Location:
    australia
    That's correct. In "silent" mode you will see a popup only if the computer needs to be rebooted ... after an engine upgrade, for instance.
     
  20. daweed

    daweed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2
     
  21. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi Steve,
    I know what you mean, but sorry, this is not possible. A corrupted update from our side is possible, but it happens VERY rare. In such a case immediately as we realize a problem, we create a new update that will fix the problem (as it was with the 1.348 now).

    rgds, :D

    jan
     
  22. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hey daweed,

    I can't see from your post if you tried the things I recommended you to do in this thread before:
    I hope it helps. If not, you can try to update from the following two servers:

    1. www.nod32.com (an entry in the Control Center - CC )

    2. http://www.esetsoftware.com/upd_info ( can be added to the CC )

    The server www.eset.sk is not intended for the english version of NOD.

    All the best, :)

    jan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.