Uninstalled my firewall solution today...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Starsky, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Starsky

Starsky Registered Member

...And a strange calm descended upon me!:D

Hello all, this is my first post :)

I had sygate installed for 4 years now...Few days ago, for some reason it allowed a process adobe_updater.exe downloading updates trouble free while i had blocked it, so decided it was the end of the line for it and started trying new firewalls but could not decide on anything; some too buggy n bloated (comodo), some with many restrictions (free versions like outpost)... in the end, dissatisfied, i just left my system firewall free, except xp firewall of course though i am also behind a router with NAT.

For some time i was weary of going online... but then after a few hours of use i was quite happy with nothing! :D

In the 4 yrs i've been using sygate (and comodo for a few months), i've disallowed a software (a virus of some kind which avira failed to detect) from accessing the internet only once and i dont even know whether it was successful in blocking it! What was usual though was of me constantly being worried about explorer.exe or lsass.exe accessing an ip 127.0.0.1, or me answering to allow access to software i have installed on my system.

My system is perfectly clean and i can spot when something's not right with it (malware) even if avira decides to play dead.

i'm just loving it with one less program starting up with the system. i can even check which process is accessing the internet with process explorer...

Do i really need an outbound firewall? Then i read an article today at http://ask-leo.com/is_an_outbound_firewall_needed.html which just confirms what i've been thinking.

2. subset

subset Registered Member

Just out of curiosity.

How did you block adobe_updater.exe with Windows FW?
    Did Leo block it?

Cheers

3. HKEY1952

HKEY1952 Registered Member