Understanding IRC settings

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by FireDancer, Sep 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FireDancer

FireDancer Registered Member

Hi all,

I reformatted my 15 year old daughters computer last night and decided it might be better to install Kerio 2.1.5
    as it has a better configureability then ZA Free. I set up her computer to be a bit more secure and am trying to teach her about security... at least what I know about
    spam spyware maleware viruses and trojans and the like.

Anyways after the format and install of updates and software I was informed that there was no way she was
    going to live a minute longer with out Yahoo messanger and MSN messanger!!!!!

First off just so I know I am correct Yahoo and MSN are considerd IRC correct? Internet Relay Chat. I have never used anything like a chat before as it does not interest me ... if I want to chat I can pick up the phone :rolleyes:. I have her all set up with rules for DHCP, ICMP, Custom Server (DNS), LOOPBACK and what not along with applications.

When I loaded these chat programs I watched carfully for what kind of protocal it was asking for. It seems that
    Yahoo wants a basic TCP connect out , so that was not to big a problem but MSN wants to send/recieve UDP on port 7001 but operates under a TCP connect only for ports 80, 443 and 1861 I belive. Is this port 7001 used for FTP? or am I way off here? What I did was created a few rules such as these... as for now UDP from MSN is denyed.

Yahoo TCP out local 1024-5000 any/any remote port 80
    MSN TCP out local 1024-5000 any/any remote ports 80, 443, 1861