Unable to update

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by _Logan, May 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    ESET won't update the virus database, each time it tries it says "Virus signature could not be updated" and below "An error occured while downloading update files".

    I've uninstalled, and reinstalled... but it didn't fix it. The update server is set to be selected automatically also.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    If you are using any other security programs can you update them? Also provide more info on your computer and OS.
     
  3. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Not using any other security programs, no.

    Sorry, I'm on Windows XP SP2.
     
  4. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Hello,
    I encountered same problem after upgrading from 3.0.642 to 3.0.650. There is one post here dealing with same problem and it is mentionned to clean update cache. You will find this in advanced configuration tab... That was ok for me !

    Regards
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    @_Logan

    If the above suggestions don't work , a clean reinstall is the next step to try.

    1. Download fresh new version of ESET NOD32 Antivirus 3.0 from
    http://www.eset.com/download . Make sure that you choose the correct version.

    2. Uninstall your current version from Control Panel
    3. Reboot the computer when prompted
    4. Delete manually these folders:

    - C:\Program files\ESET
    - C:\Documents and Settings\All users\Application data\Eset
    - C:\Documents and Settings\~username~\Local Settings\Application data\Eset

    5. Reinstall your ESET software using the file you downloaded in step1 . Use typical install. :thumb:
     
  6. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Hello,
    Maybe you are right... But the "above suggestion" I posted just before worked for me... Now, probably cause is different, if not...
    Regards
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi Philippe !

    I know , your post describes something that will most likely help . I posted just in case it isn't enough . Reinstalling the probgram and deleting the folders will also clean the update cache :thumb:
     
  8. _Logan

    _Logan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    @Philippe,
    Your solution didn't work, thanks anyway.

    @HiTech_Boy,
    That did it! Thanks so much! :)
     
  9. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Ok thank you for your feedback.
    Regards
     
  10. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    You're welcome, no problems :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.