Unable to promote NOD32 v5 to my customers!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by petef, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petef

petef Registered Member

I've been cleaning infected computers for over 10 years and a good portion of those years I'd install NOD32 Trial version using a current a NOD32 Installer I'd have on a CD. I'd tell my customers to try it for the 30 day trial period and if it ran well, purchase the license when it alerted you it was about to expire. Most people would buy NOD32 after the trial period.

Now with NOD32 v5, I can no longer promote it because it requires an Email address to download, install and activate for the 30 day period. I NO NOT feel comfortable asking for my customer's Email address and Password in order to DL, install and activate NOD32 v5 for the trial period.

The last time I tried installing NOD32 v5, it didn't even allow me to DL the installer file as a stand alone file. Instead it only allowed me to run a live installer which did the DL and installation automatically and left me with no installer file that I could save to a CD. This is very bad! Very very bad because now I have no way to reinstall NOD32 v5 when a virus comes in and damages NOD32. This damage and disabling of NOD32 is something I see happening more and more in recent months.

One option I now have is to install NOD32 version 4 trial version and have my customers do the update to version 5 after the trial period. Unfortunately, many of my customers are not skilled enough to do that so I have to install something other than NOD32. I do not desire to become a NOD32 reseller, but I do desire to promote NOD32 to my customers without adding any fees to my invoice for anti-virus software. I'm perfectly happy to give all the profits to Eset. I will be satisfied to make my money by charging for the time it takes to clean the computer and install the antivirus software.