Unable to boot from CD-ROM

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Daniel Demers, Jun 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I have been trying to boot from the Acronis Recovery CD I have made, but havent had any luck.

Machine: 8171-31U (IBM Machine type/model)

Things I have done.
    1. Tried making both a Safe Mode and Full Version Boot CD.... No Go
    2. Tried using both CDs on another Machine. Both worked fine.
    3. Tried booting using Windows PE ... Booted fine.
    4. Tried booting using an old Norton Ghost Boot CD.... Booted fine.

I have tried booting so many times, using so many different BIOS settings, that I am 99% sure its not a BIOS settings. I have never seen a computer not boot from a certain CDs. Normally if I have a bootable CD, it works unless something is wrong on the machine side (ie. Configuration or something.).

Since I am new to this software, I am wondering if this is a common issue?

2. MiniMax

MiniMax Registered Member

How does it not boot?

Skipping the CD completely and booting from the hard disk?

Booting from the CD, but hanging before/after the splash screen?

3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Daniel Demers,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

Please update your copy of Acronis True Image 8.0 to the 826 build. In order to get access to updates you should register account on our site (or just log in if you have already created it) and then register your copy of the product. Then create the new bootable CD and try to boot from it.