Ultimate Boot CD

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WilliamP, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

WilliamP Registered Member

I want to build an Ultimate Boot CD . Then if all goes well I want to build a Windows Ultimate Boot CD. Anyway on the UBD site they have 3 different downloads. An ISO image , self extracting zip and regular zip. Which should I download? Then before I make the CD what do I do with what I have downloaded? I know this may be stupid questions but I have never done anything like this before and I want to learn. Thank you for the help.

2. Infinity

Infinity Registered Member

me too, I would like to know that too. something like slipstreaming I guesso_O

3. WilliamP

With the Ultimate Boot CD you don't have to slipstream. That comes next with the Windows Ultimate Boot CD. I have downloaded Autostream that is supposed to make it easy.

4. Devinco

Devinco Registered Member

Hi WilliamP,

If you don't want to make any changes, download the .iso. It is an CD image file that is ready to burn. Just use Roxio Easy Media Creator or Nero to burn the image to cd. Very easy to do when you have those programs.

Since you want to make some additions, I would download the zip rather than the .exe. Zips are easier to scan for malware (just in case).
    Roxio and Nero can both burn bootable CDs. Just look in the help file for more info. Just create a new bootable data CD project add the files you want and burn it.

Hi Infinity,

Slipstreaming is usually refers to combining the original Windows XP CD with SP2 into a combined CD. I don't think you can slipstream other things.

5. WilliamP

I have downloaded the ISO. I haven't burned the CD yet. I have Easy CD Creator 5. I'm new to this and was just wondering. What will I be able to do with this CD as it is now without any additional addons?

6. Devinco

Devinco Registered Member