UGH!

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by Wildchld, Jun 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wildchld

Wildchld Registered Member

Reeeaaallll newbie here; nice to meet everyone! :D

I was trying to securely clean free space on my hard drive, C, but it erased half the hard drive and most of my Windows files before I caught it. (I run Windows XP.)

Anyone know what I did wrong? I went to My Computer, C, right clicked on CryptoSuite and then chose "Secure Clean free space on Drive C." Needless to say, I had a reinstall done after that dumb move. :oops: :oops: :oops:

I really want to secure wipe my free space but now I'm afraid to try it again. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you very much!!!

2. nick s

nick s Registered Member

By accident, I did the same. Never happened again. The dialogues look the same if you're not paying attention. I had just imaged my drive, so I was lucky.

Nick

3. Wildchld

Well, thank you. I figure it had to have been me, but every time I go back and look at it I can't believe I did it. Oh well, live and learn.

Or maybe they could put up a red, flashing, warning screen in a 60 pt. font for blind people like me. :D :eek: :D

4. Jason_R0

Jason_R0 Developer

Well there is no way if you did the secure delete free space it would delete your drive. There is an issue with cleaning free space and system restore points (see the help file for more details), but nothing major will occur with a secure delete of the clean space. So I would suggest it would be a user fault.

I might make it so it does pop up asking to make sure you want to secure delete the drive, if it is the windows drive, or possibly any whole drive?

5. Wildchld

I was just joking about the blinking sign, but how about a hand that comes out of the computer screen and slaps you in the face? :D