Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise Pangolin) released!

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by vasa1, Apr 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    yes!

    tnx vasa.
    i will be sure to give this a try over the next coming days! :)
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
  4. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Kubuntu 12.04 is running well here :)
     
  5. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,528
  6. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    I got the RC a couple of days before. Can't trust my ISP :(
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,933
    Getting mine now.. going pretty slow, taking about 40 minutes. Usually it would be about 5 or 6, lol... :)
     
  8. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,133
    32bit is still the default? That's a bit of a disappointment.
     
  9. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    Suspend does not work.

    the machine becomes totally unresponsive upon waking up.

    i'have never seen a Linux distro so far where the Suspend/Sleep/Hibernature function actually works. :blink:

    not once! lol
     
  10. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,133
    Yeah I know why they chose 32bit and it makes sense. I was just hoping to see a push to 64bit for further progress there.

    edit: Sleep works fine here.
     
  12. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    from https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PrecisePangolin/ReleaseNotes/UbuntuDesktop
     
  13. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    tnx Vasa,

    i'll give it another try.
     
  14. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    So how do you know they're not making further progress? Did you go through all the posts in the lists.ubuntu.com link?
     
  15. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
  16. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,285
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
  17. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,933
    Man, this is really nice. Got it installed and everything configured. I'm going to keep this one. I think this is the best linux experience I've had in a long time..
     
  19. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    ok.

    i haven't looked at my Suspend problem but that can wait.

    first; it looks beautiful.

    second; the sound was very easy to setup, which is rare in the Linux world.
    major :thumb: for that!

    i am quite impressed actually by the overall look and experience so far.
    very nice! :)

    i am gonna give this a try for a full month until Linux Mint 13 is released.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
  20. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,024
    I know of two updates already: kernel and Fx 11 --> Fx 12.
     
  21. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    hmmm,

    i still have the same problems with resume from Suspend.

    i tried alternate NVIDIA drivers, thinking it might be a display problem with the drivers.
    because when i resume from Suspend, the left bar and the top bar graphics are corrupted.

    weird...
     
  22. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    quite a bit of my Linux favorites were already installed: Bleachbit, gedit, Transmission, Evince, Firefox, Brasero,

    the only things i uninstalled were the Libre Office.

    i replaced Rhytmnbox by Audacious.

    2 of Audacious effect plugins, Crystalizer, and Extra-Stereo Plugin, are really worth trying out.
     
  23. BlitzenZeus

    BlitzenZeus Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    The system I ran it on can't run the live cd as it won't load the generic video driver to use my nvidia card, and even when I install it I have to use the alternative intaller, then on first boot pick recovery mode to load the generic video driver to enable the "proprietary" nvidia video driver. The system also has no onboard video card.

    On top of all that changing one, or more of the settings in my nvidia settings caused the dummy audio drivers to be loaded on next boot. That was fun to try to figure out how to fix it, yeah I'll use the word fun. :)

    It's great when it works consistantly.
     
  24. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    hate to admit this one is much much better :D

    althoe i am never been ubuntu fan but very stable so far all i tweak is install ubuntu tweak tool on live cd :D
     
  25. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,634
    I couldn't get the proprietary ATI driver installed on my laptop via the standard desktop alert, managed to get it installed with a "sudo apt-get install fglrx" followed by a "sudo apt-get install fglrx-updates".
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.