UAC notification

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by wptski, Nov 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wptski

wptski Registered Member

I'm new to W7, only just over a week.

I get UAC notifications when installing new software which seems to be normal. I just installed Paragon's Backup & Recovery Free Advanced. I got a UAC notice when I tried to open it the first time. I didn't open it for this reason. Is this normal for this app? I've never seen this before after any install!

BTW: After the reboot at install, I couldn't open anything including the Start Menu and was forced to just power down.

2. Mech_An

Mech_An Registered Member

Paragon programs require administrative rights to get access to hard drives.
    UAC notifications will always appear on attempt to execute the program.

I would recommend you to disable UAC or always click 'YES' to run Paragon program.

3. wptski

wptski Registered Member

Thanks! As this was the first time I've seen this, I hesitated to open the app.

I might add that after the reboot at install, I couldn't open any app or open the Start menu and was forced to just power down. So when the UAC alert showed, I stopped right there.

Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  4. Mech_An

Mech_An Registered Member

UAC warning should appear during the install. If you select Yes, the installation will be completed correctly. Otherwize, UAC may prevent some components installation.

I would recommend you to:
    1. Uninstall Backup & Recovery
    2. Reboot
    3. disable UAC and antivirus
    4. Install Backup & Recovery
    5. reboot.
    Then you can enable UAC again.

5. Robin A.

Robin A. Registered Member