UAC help

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by arran, Apr 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,129
    With Win7 UAC does any know a way round the UAC prompts ever time you open a program from an unknown publisher? Is there a way to make windows remember without having to answer the prompt every time you open the app?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Norton had a tool that 'remembered' UAC answers. Not sure if it ever came out of beta or was x64 compliant. It was designed for Vista but it worked on Win 7 I'm sure. Might be something else like it out there.

    Kees Safeadmin tweaks also limit UAC prompts to unsigned apps and I'm sure you can make apps run at start-up using task scheduler which again prevents UAC prompt.

    Cheers
     
  4. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
  5. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    SuRun can do that. ( I'm actually using it because of that annoyance)
    EDIT: If what you meant is running with elevated privileges.
     
  6. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,255
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I do not even know if both the x86 and 64 bit versions of the Norton UAC Tool are still available for download or not. I did a fairly thorough search for the 64 bit version and could not find a download source available anywhere. So in this regard Norton may not be an option anyways...
     
  8. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,129
    Yes a simple solution without having to install any 3rd party apps like nortons tool or SuRun.

    set it up in Task Scheduler and then create a shortcut on your desktop.

    also what thread is Kees Safeadmin tweaks in?
     
  9. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

  10. Melf

    Melf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Posts:
    105
    Other solution is to use a different program that's designed more smartly, to use services so that it doesn't have to ask for UAC every time you run it.
     
  11. RedDawn

    RedDawn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    Came across this on Raymond's blog the other day. Haven't tested it, so use at your own risk.


    UAC Pass

    -http://www.raymond.cc/blog/uac-pass-automatically-creates-uac-free-shortcut/

    -http://freeavvarea.r00t.la/UACPass-en#features-and-download
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.