Two V5 Questions

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by COSMO26, May 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. COSMO26

COSMO26 Registered Member

My XP SP3 Media Ctr system is working as smoothly as I could hope - And I have to rely on Auto-Firewall and Default Settings to do their thing as I'm no expert on ESS inner-workings.

I see that the Port 995 POP3 setting that AT&T ISP wants (SSL is Chk'd in Outlook setup) is in the "Use POP3S for Selected Ports" section, 995 IS shown BUT That Section is "Grayed-out". Is This POP3S Area Supposed to be Grayed-out?

So far there are No Issues with my having MBAM Pro (real-time enabled) AND SuperAS Pro (real-time enabled). Does anyone see a major Duplication of Efforts "with V5" or any Predictable Conflict?

Any other Setup suggestions beyond "DEFAULT" are appreciated although I've seen no posts on any "big-deal" changes that must be made.

Many Thanks!

Last edited: May 18, 2011
  2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

If you want to have the POP3S communication scanned, enable SSL scanning in the Protocol filtering setup first.

3. COSMO26

Thanks, Marcos, I see that. This is where I still Need Help.

What I Really Need to know is Even with "Server requires SSL" checked for Outlook setup Can the 995 Incoming Server port that AT&T wants for Outlook be put in the POP3 section with 110 And Leave POP3S Grayed-out?

I had 110 & 995 together in 4.2.71's POP3 section (maybe wrongly) and V5 (not me) put 995 in the POP3S section during the Install Over 4.2.

Thanks again!

4. Escalader

Escalader Registered Member

When I researched the notion of multiple RT scanners about a year ago it came back that 1 RT scanner at a time is best. Similar to 2 AV's rule.

Best to check with the vendors and ensure each product excludes all the others while checking.

5. COSMO26