Twister-AntiTrojenVirus Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Taliscicero, Dec 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Thats a little harsh Bellgamin, maybe he really did make a mistake :D everyone is intitled to there own oppinion even if its the opposite to yours ^^
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    i am not prevx tester. i copied this test prevx web site. Look at screenshoot.
    This is not my mistake
    This is your mistake. This is your ...


    i have poor english, but i never do fall back this. You are too aggressive.

    You can close, i dont care it. i wrote only my ideas. You cant like it but you can show respect

    You sad. Who is the recognized professional antivirus tester?
    is there professional tester educational center? is there any school?
    has professional tester any internatioanl sertification?
    Who can say, this guy a professional tester/this dont

    i know i am not professional but this is not mean my test isnt useful and bad.
    i sad that many times "i am not professional, this test for fun" already.

    test is a test.
    if my tests are bad, why some product passed the test?
    i tested all software on the same virtual machine
    i tested every product twice.

    i wont discuss my test with anybody. i spent 3 days for the tests. i cant spend anymore

    Prevx 1st, Twister 1st, Norton 1st
    Why do i care. i havent any AV company.
    i want to help only them. i sent many malware, i will send more.



    you cant understand me.

    Bellgamin can shut me but he cant kill me :)
    if i am wrong, anybody say that.
    i am trying friendly. But this message isnt friendly.
    this is not my mistake.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Zetelo

    Zetelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    Maybe we should open a forum for Twistees (I really like this expression)? :argh:
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I cannot close threads -- I am not a Mod. I was referring to the fact that a previous Twister discussion thread was closed because of contentions similar to what you have introduced into this thread.

    It isn't possible to discern the quality of your tests because you do not disclose pertinent information.

    Your *tests* would become better understood & of more value & significance if you provided information such as: (a) size & composition of malware sample, (b) how the malware database was garnered, (c) applications & versions tested & settings used (default or maximum aggressiveness, or ...??), (d) general description of testing methodology, (e) results in terms of detected, undetected, FPs, etc.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I have just installed Twister in my Vista snapshot.
    When browsing my computer keeps hanging for a couple of seconds after the page has loaded.

    I have tried with the default settings and it is still the same.
    I am also running Defensewall and Superantispyware with real-time protection.

    Twister runs fine with XP and the same set up but not with Vista.
    Does anyone have any issues with Twister and Vista?
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I should add that i have tried running with Defensewall and SAS disabled but still the computer hangs.
     
  7. Zetelo

    Zetelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    I guess Twister is still a XP based antivirus...It may work on Vista, but not propely since the current version is really old. But Filseclab is working on a new version, this might solve your problems
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks Zetelo :thumb:
    That may well be the case then its is underdeveloped for Vista.
    It is running very light still though and this slight hang for a couple of seconds after a web page loads seems to be the only issue at the moment.

    I have sent an email to support though so i will await their reply.
     
  9. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Twister dosent have a HTTP's Scanner therefore shouldent be skipping when loading webpages, it may be something else conflicting like an Addon in the browser.
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I have added %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\#####.default folder to the trusted objects in extended options and this does seem to have improved things considerably.

    Is this a safe option to choose o_O
     
  11. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I agree with 3DFireStarteR, that this is weird, since Twister doesn't scan HTTP traffic... Twister usually slows down in .jar and .cab files. Have you tried cleaning your internet temporary files? (Sorry, i don't remember where Firefox keeps them).
     
  12. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Yes i have tried that.
    I have just removed C:\Users\Dad\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\*******.default folder from the trusted objects in extended options and the problem reappears.
    Add it again and it is a lot better.
     
  13. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    As i said, Check Addons, since the addons run locally twister is probably still scanning them, if your running something like NoScript then while noscript checks the page twister will have to wait its turn thus you seeing a slowdown, at the moment this is my best guess.
     
  14. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Seems so. As far as it remains decent, i don't care about their release cycle. Many companies make "timely" releases, only to discover that their product is still in beta really and they use the customers as guinea pigs to find bugs.

    I confirm the info given by 3DFireStarteR earlier. I was told too that they are working hard on a big program update, with ETA in the middle of the next year and it will contain big improvements in both main scan engine and FDD.
     
  15. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I have received a reply back from support.

    :thumb:
     
  16. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
  17. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,757
    Avg stops the page to open as rogue. there must be something there or these two app are going crazy(McAfee and AVG)
     
  18. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I presume you mean the Filseclab site and not the site advisor's right?

    Anyway, seems AVG hates Twister. Here's a review from one of the people there:

    "CRAP ANTIVIRUS! Twister has made AVG users MAD! AVG reports Trojan Horse Generic11.EWK from Resident Shield/Scan. It was in the file, located at C:\Program Files\Common Files\Filseclab after installation. The filename was FilMSg.exe which is an application/executable."

    The filseclab messenger isn't a trojan... I would know by now. Actually i have it disabled at startup. It's a false positive.
     
  19. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, i always complain that Twister has many FP, but AVG is actually flagging a fellow AV as trojan. :D

    Now, either AVG is reaaaally better than all the rest, or this is a FP. :D

    1.png

    I must find AVG's mail for submitting FPs...

    EDIT: I hope it's virus [at] grisoft.cz . If it has changed, please let me know.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  20. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,757
     
  21. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Maybe they have associated it with the "trojan" , so they think it's a rogue antivirus or something... I have visited the Filseclab site many times and i never saw anything unusual.
     
  22. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I would like to congratulate the user that made a review after me. :thumb: And advice to check on the dictionary the word "rogue".

    Because i am sure he was in good faith. :D

    http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/filseclab.com

    :thumb: (Bad buying experience... Does this mean he actually bought it?!)

    Oh boy...
     
  23. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    AVG and Mcafee, Makeing a stand against communism.

    Its China so it must be a Trojen right? :blink:
     
  24. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
  25. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
    No, probably they are just kidding.

    I've checked Kingsoft and they are not marked as "bad".

    A mistake??

    I just wonder when they will do that.


    Oh sorry, for giving them an idea.

    Someone still have prejudice obviously !!!!

    So sad.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.