Truecrypt modding ???

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by DavidXanatos, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidXanatos

DavidXanatos Developer

Hi,
    Is there some project that would resemble a truecrypt mod?

Or are there some people here wanting to start such project?

There are quite some things that are missing and it seams the official devs wont implement it, stuff like listed here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=224241

I'm an experienced c++ hobby programmer, but not very familiar with drivers and such, I managed to mod the TC driver to remove the write protection for normal drives when using the hidden OS, as well as get the persistent/system volumes back for TCtemp/TCGina, http://www.eselfarm.info/ModCrypt/
    but for example with this: http://forums.truecrypt.org/viewtopic.php?t=15399 I stuck and no luck in any direction :/

Things I think are needed are:
    1. Smaller decoy larger hidden OS
    2. implace HDD encryption for XP
    3. inplace reencryption with an other headre key
    4. VSS support for nonsystem drives
    5. native support for rescue USB stick instead of a CD/DVD
    6. if feasable keyfiles form USB/floppy
    7. soft reboot capability without entering the PW (storred in ram or HDD or usb/floppy and after use erased)
    8. option to dissable the write protection in the hidden OS for unhidden/unencrypted drives
    9. mounting TC volumes as into empty NTFS folders without the need to 1st mount them with a drive letter

As of now I only got 8 to run...

I believe it could be a very usefully project and make many people happy.
    Is there some one willing to help me with this?

David X.

2. DavidXanatos

DavidXanatos Developer

No one interested?

3. mjau

mjau Registered Member

I would like to see a mod that does what drivecrypt does, if a wrong password is enterd at the bootloader it will destroy the drive so no one can read anything of it.