Truecrypt container problem

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by miserify, Apr 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. miserify

miserify Registered Member

Hi everybody,

I have been searching a solution for this issue for last couple of weeks and it seems like this is the right place to ask a question.

I have a 30 GB truecrypt file container. I was moving to another computer and after I copied my container to a usb disk, it won't mount the disk anymore.
    I think when i was copying the disk it might have been mounted.
    I tried the internal backup header but no success.

I have seen dantz provide guidance to others about the fully encrypted HDs, but I am not sure if this works for file containers. I tried to extract the header from sector 62, but it didn't work.

I would really appreciate if you can help me.

Thanks,

2. dogbite

dogbite Registered Member

I would proceed as follows (please mind that I am not an expert on this, others more experienced might give you better info):

1. Mount your TC container on the HDD.
    2. Create a 30GB new TC container on the USB
    3. Copy all files from the TC mounted container on HDD to the mounted container on the USB.
    4. Clean/wipe all with Privazer or another cleaning software.

This is also the way of backing up files according to TC:
    http://www.truecrypt.org/docs/how-to-back-up-securely

This should prevent problems of copying the container when unmounted.

3. miserify

Hi dogbite,

Thank you for the advice. I wish I knew that before.
    I just copied and pasted the whole container already and it is not mounting any more.

When I try to mount, it is telling me the password is wrong. Most probably the header part is either miss-placed or corrupted. I know dantz was suggesting to get the header from sector 62 for encrypted drives, but I don't think it is the case for the containers.

Is there any other method to extract the header from the container?