TrueCrypt and Win 7 Recovery Partitions

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by wutheringheights, Nov 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutheringheights

wutheringheights Registered Member

Hi folks!

Just a question: I have a new Win 7 system that has an inbuilt 1.5 GB recovery partition before the C: system partition, and another inbuilt 10 GB HDDRecovery partition. These are both primary partitions. These partitions are generated automatically and I am not sure what they do exactly. I understand that one of these might have the Win 7 boot loader.

I have encrypted the data partition I set up and and want to proceed to encrypt the system partition. I am familiar with encryption on XP but since I'm new to Win 7 I just want to check how we take the two special recovery partitions into account.

1. Do they contain information that would also need to be encrypted? If they only contain off-the-shelf system files, it doesn't matter.

2. How does TrueCrypt interact with these two partitions? I believe that the HDDRecovery partition works in lieu of a system installation disk to restore your hard disk to its factory settings (I think that you can arrange to have only the system partition restored, leaving the data partition). But I'm not sure why there are two partitions labelled recovery.

3. In XP, we boot to the TrueCrypt bootloader which then goes to the system partition after validation. What happens in this configuration?

Thanks for the assitance.

wuthering heights

2. wutheringheights

wutheringheights Registered Member

Well, no one had an answer, so here's what I think the answers are: