True Image and my laptop

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cdysthe, Jul 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cdysthe

cdysthe Registered Member

Hi,

I am new to True Image but have been through the documentation and set things up. However, I am unsure about a few things.

1. I store all my back-ups on a external USB drive. This drive is only connected when I create backups or restore (hopefully not too often!). I created the Secure Zone on the USB drive and activated the Acronis Startup Recover Manager. However, when I restart the laptop without the USB drive connected I get a "MBR Error 2" message. The laptop boots fine though.
    When I have the USB drive connected I do not get that message but rather the option to start Acronis recovery stuff. Am I doing this the right way, or should I not install the Startup and Recovery Manager and use the recovery CD I created instead if I need to recover something? Or maybe I do not need to use the Secure Zone at all?

2. I work for a software company so I have to run all kinds of weird stuff which sometimes breaks Vista. Up to now I've used Windows built in Restore, but would rather use Acronis for everything. Could I just create a "My Computer" image or a "System State" backup in my Secure Zone, and then reboot with the USB drive connected?

3. I would also like to keep two kinds of backup on the external drive, one being a complete image making it possible to restore everything kind of like the built in full back-up option in Windows Vista Ultimate. I would like to keep a bacup of files for easy restore without having to restore the whole computer. Can I put both kinds of back-ups in the Secure Zone on the USB drive and be sure I can get my laptop back using the My Computer backup image in case of disaster?