Trojan deleted, attack continues? - Newbie

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by optigrab, Sep 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. optigrab

optigrab Registered Member

Howdy - my apologies in advance for my ignorance of TDS 's functions.

I've been having trouble the last couple of days with system.exe continually trying to connecting to IANA, as logged by my firewall. The folks over at the firewall's forum helped eliminate a lot of possibilities, then suggested that I might have a Trojan attemtping to execute a DoS attack from my machine. What a great time to evaluate TDS-3!

Almost immediately, TDS identifed one item:
    DDoS.RAT.SDBot in C:\WINNT\System32\STDE9.exe

Being an extreme newbie, I did the intuitive thing, right-clicked on the item at the bottom of the TDS panel, and chose "Delete".

Then I ran a Full scan again - no alarms this time. Then I manually updated the radius database :p

Here's the problem (assuming I did not create more problems in my haste): the connection attempts are still occurring (one every minute or so). Another "quick scan" and "process memory scan" showed nothing - but I see there are other scans that can be performed.

I would greatly appreciate any help that can be offered.

Thanks
    Optigrab

2. Gavin - DiamondCS

Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

Hi,

A good time to look at Port Explorer too, which will show you exactly WHAT is making those connections

From the TDS Process List, please kill that system.exe process immediately, to me it sounds like a GT Bot - mIRC based trojan which is script based. These are tricky to detect sometimes, but the major culprit is the EXE file, probably that system.exe. It will be listening on port 113 and connected to an IRC server, probably on port 6667 (remote)

Please send a copy of that file to gavin@diamondcs.com.au and I'll let you know anything more I can after seeing it :)

3. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member

Hello Optigrab, and welcome,