Tried them all

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cheli2400, May 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheli2400

cheli2400 Registered Member

Newbie here, first post so please bear with me. I have tried every anti virus program out there. From paid to free. Currently using AVG free, with BOClean & windows firewall. I do look at some off color sites. AVG is very lite on resources & doesn't slow down computer at all, & I like that. Avast uses a little more resources & speed is the same. Got infected using Nod, Kaspersky is secure but slows down my computer a little. Any diffence between Kav beta 7 & Kis beta 7? mite try one of those. Guess what I'm asking is I want the best security without slowing down the computer. Is AVG free with BOClean & windows firewall good enough to catch most stuff. Thanx in advance for any help. Very informative forum...:-*

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

hello cheli2400,
    kis7.0/kav7.0 beta is alot lighter than kis/kav6.0
    and the final will come out very soon.
    not sure i would trust avg in your situation.
    how do you know your not infected with avg?
    an alternate browser would be your first stop.
    opera or firefox.
    then you could get superantispyware free for on demand scans (link in my sig)
    boclean is a good choice.
    I would surgest buying a firewalled router.
    lodore

3. cheli2400

I do have a Linksys router, & have these on demand spyware removers, Superantispyware, a-squared, lava soft ad aware, spybot s&d xoftse. I run alot of antivirus scans & spyware scans too. thanx:-*

4. lodore

lodore Registered Member

No problem.
    what browser do you use?
    lodore

5. cheli2400

IE6, dont like Firefox or IE7 tried both, I like IE6. I like trying different anti virus programs, dont like suite programs, too heavy. Just want something with real time protection, thats good, but lean. Guess I want the best of both worlds if thats possible.

6. cheli2400

Trojans