total novice questions

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cwthornton, Mar 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cwthornton

cwthornton Registered Member

I have ATI 9.0, and I'm unclear on what's supposed to be happening with differential backups. I did a full backup of my C drive to a second hard drive, then I've been trying to perform differential backups every week.
    The full backup of about 100 GB of data created 23 files (named "myCbackup1.tib" through "myCbackup23.tib") of 3.99 GB each, and one file ("myCbackup24.tib) of 1.16 GB. My first differential backup created three files (named "myCbackup25.tib" through "myCbackup27.tib") with the first two at 3.99GB and the third at 3.801 GB. A week later, my next incremental backup a week later produced four files named "myCbackup28.tib" through "myCbackup31.tib", with the first three at 3.99GB and the fourth at 2.02 GB.
    I'm probably clueless about the concept of the differential backup, but here's my questions: Should the files be that large? Should I be naming the incremental backups something different than the original backup files? Should I be erasing the previous differential backups after producing the new ones? Is there a step-by-stop tutorial for dummies like me who just want to back up their hard drive every week?

Thanks for your patience with a novice.
    Chuck

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

You are mixing differential and incremental in the same question - both are names of backup mechanisms so I don't know if you mean a real incremental backup or just a "general increment of change" to your backup files.

A differential backup records all of the changes made since the Full backup each and every time. So to restore to the latest backup time you only need the Full and the last differential. (However, due to a quirk of TI to validate the archive you need the full and every intermediate differential.)